Christiane Fichtner

Archivtexte Archivtext November 2007
      ¬ Susanne Hinrichs, Bremen
¬ The Biographies of Christiane Fichtner
          "Everything I Could Be"

      ¬ deutsch ::: english

It is amazing where life can lead you.
With just two fixed points to start with - the date of birth and the profession of artist - the artist Christiane Fichtner from Bremen lets other people invent her biography for her, which she then turns into pictures with the help of a make-up artist, costume designer and a photographer. The 20 biographies written for her so far show the different paths Christiane Fichtner’s life could have taken and demonstrate the breathtaking diversity life has to offer. The authors display an enormous capacity for invention: She is a world traveler, famous fashion designer or homosexual feminist. Christiane Fichtner walks on many fascinating fictional paths, be it as the daughter of a diplomat in Tokyo, the child of a German immigrant family in Sao Paulo or born into a comfortable middle class lawyer’s family in Hamburg. All the biographies logically culminate in the study of art, or at least in experimenting with it for a short while.

Often these life stories take detours that lead to dubious destinations. There is not always a happy end to the invented stories. The protagonist ends as a drunk, commits suicide or is sent to a psychiatric institution. Some authors construct happy outcomes nonetheless. For instance, after a long period of suffering, Christiane finally lives carefree with someone named Nick in London. She becomes a famous and highly esteemed director, or she just realizes for herself that life has its highs and lows, stays unpredictable till the end and simply has to be lived. Realizing this can mean happiness, too.

Christiane Fichtner began this project in the year 2004 with her own actual biography. Since then, she has demonstrated a good deal of trust in the authors, whom she does not necessarily know. Her objective is to turn each serious biography into a text and an accompanying picture and integrate it into the series. For every biography, she works with a new team who demonstrate, for their part, a huge creative potential for developing images to fit the biographies.

The literary quality of the written résumés ranges from tabular lists, poetic memories and interviews to self-portrayals in the first person. Some of them even go as far as the year 2014 and describe a fictive future.

It seems as if the artist lets go of her own will in this process, but this is far from the case. Each person embodies Christiane Fichtner herself. In the biographies, she proves her baffling ability to transform herself, giving the pictures stability and credibility through her immediate charisma.




to top

Christiane Fichtner

Archivtexte Archivtext November 2007
      ¬ Susanne Hinrichs, Bremen
     
¬ Zu den Biografien von Christiane Fichtner
          "Was ich alles sein könnte"

      ¬ deutsch ::: english


Es ist schon bemerkenswert, wohin einen das Leben führen kann.
Ausgehend von nur zwei Fixpunkten – dem Geburtsdatum und dem Beruf als Künstlerin – lässt sich die Bremer Künstlerin Christiane Fichtner Biografien auf den Leib schneidern, um diese anschließend mithilfe eines Masken- und Kostümbildners und eines Fotografen in Szene setzen zu lassen. Die bisher 20 verschiedenen Lebenswege, die Christiane Fichtner hätte beschreiten können, zeugen von einer atemberaubenden Vielfalt, was das Leben zu bieten hat. Weltenbummlerin, Drogenabhängige, berühmte Modedesignerin oder homosexuelle Feministin – die Autoren beweisen einen enormen Erfindungsreichtum. Ob als Diplomatentochter in Tokio, als Kind einer deutschen Auswandererfamilie in Sao Paulo oder in eine gutbürgerliche Hamburger Anwaltsfamilie geboren, geht Christiane Fichtner faszinierend viele fiktive Wege, die konsequenterweise in einem Kunststudium enden oder dieses zumindest versuchsweise streifen.


Oftmals beschreiten diese Lebensentwürfe Umwege, die an ein zweifelhaftes Ziel führen. Nicht immer geht das erfundene Finale glücklich aus. Die Protagonistin endet im Suff, begeht Selbstmord oder landet in einer psychiatrischen Einrichtung. Doch auch glückliche Ausgänge wissen die Autoren zu konstruieren. So lebt Christiane nach langen Entbehrungen endlich unbeschwert mit einem gewissen Nick in London. Sie ist eine berühmte und hochgeschätzte Regisseurin geworden oder hat auch nur für sich selbst eingesehen, dass das Leben Höhen und Tiefen bereithält, unberechenbar bleibt bis zum Schluss und eben gelebt werden muss. Auch diese Erkenntnis kann Glück bedeuten.


Im Jahre 2004 beginnt Christiane Fichtner dieses Projekt mit ihrer eigenen, real existierenden Biografie und beweist fortan ein großes Vertrauen in die verschiedenen Autoren, welche sie nicht zwangsläufig kennt. Sie nimmt sich vor, jede ernst gemeinte Biografie in Text und Bild umzusetzen und in die Serie aufzunehmen. Dabei steht ihr jedesmal ein neues Team zur Seite, welches seinerseits ein großes Potenzial an Kreativität aufweist, Bilder zu den Lebensentwürfen zu entwickeln.
Die literarische Qualität der niedergeschriebenen Lebensläufe reicht von knappen tabellarischen Aufstellungen, über poetische Erinnerungsarbeiten, Interviews oder in der Ich-Form geschriebene Selbstdarstellungen, die über die Gegenwart hinaus bis in das Jahr 2014 reichend eine fiktive Zukunft beschreiben.


Fast willenlos scheint die Künstlerin sich dem auszusetzen. Doch das ist sie bei weitem nicht. Jede Person verkörpert Christiane Fichtner selbst. Dabei beweist sie eine verblüffende Wandlungsfähigkeit und gibt den Bildern durch ihre präsente Ausstrahlung Stabilität und Glaubwürdigkeit.

 

Zurück zur StartseiteBiografie

nach oben